John & Margo Catsimatides Phidippides Award Recipient

Immediate Release
Contact: E. Daniels Tel. (718) 488-9500
Hellenic Public Radio-COSMOS FM to honor John and Margo Catsimatidis with PHIDIPPIDES AWARD 2000

New York – On the evening of November 3, the Greek American Educational Public Information System (GAEPIS) will present the 7th Annual Phidippides Award Gala Dinner to benefit Hellenic Public Radio honoring New York’s beloved husband and wife team John and Margo Catsimatidis.

Their extraordinary record of continued service to our Church in this country and internationally to the interests of Greece and Cyprus and to the cultural and educational institutions of the Greek- and Cypriot-American communities in America makes them the ideal recipients of the Phidippides Award in this millennium year. And we would be honored if you will join us for this black tie event at the Pierre Hotel in New York.

Hellenic Public Radio Cosmos FM (HPR), non-profit (c) (3) corporation, has been broadcasting quality, non-commercial programming for 13 years. It is the only daily bilingual Greek radio presence in the New York metropolitan area (WNYE 91.5FM) and it reaches nearly 200,000 listeners each week. HPR is internationally renowned for providing key news coverage and analysis, enriching cultural profiles and reliable educational features. HPR is supported by the City of New York; the broader New York business community; as well as thousands of individual members - universally acknowledged as a resource that must be preserved.

Annually, we represent the Phidippides Award to an individual (or organization) who has demonstrated a profound history of promoting and preserving Hellenism, especially on a global scale. Previous award recipients include Jules Dassin and the Melina Mercouri Foundation, SAE World President Andrew Athens, renowned composer Mikis Theodorakis, Olympics 2004 Committee Chair Gianna Angelopoulos-Daskalaki, philanthropists Dimitrios and Georgia Kaloidis, internationally acclaimed film director, Michael Cacoyannis.

About the Award | Past Winners | Current Recipient